Sierra Summit

Journalism Program won Awards

Brie Murphy, EIC

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

The journalism programs won four awards for last year’s classes. Those awards were given on Oct.19, 2017 at CSU during the J-Day award ceremony.

STV, the broadcasting program won an Award of Merit for Video Media. This was the first award from CSMA that STV has won.

“I was very proud, because it was the first award given to STV,,” Colin Manuello said.

The newspaper program won a 2016-17 Award of Commendation. The newspaper has won a few other awards from CSMA.

“It was very cool to get the award, because I was an editor on the newspaper last year,” Alex Heckle said.

The yearbook won a 2016-17 All Colorado, and was put into the All Colorado Hall Of Fame. This was the first year that there was a Hall Of Fame.

To qualify for the Hall of Fame, a student medium must earn the highest rating (All-Colorado) from the annual summer critique program for six of seven consecutive years,” CSMA said. The Eagle Eye View won this award with nine other yearbooks.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

Navigate Right
Navigate Left
The student news site of Sierra Middle School
Journalism Program won Awards